Baylor Bears Media’s precision crop won the Big 12 for the first time

For the first time in the history of the Big 12, Baylor is the exact choice to win the league in a media poll.

Oklahoma, winning six Big 12 Championships in a row between 2015-2020, finished second in Baylor’s 17 of 12 places.

This is the first time in seven years and only the third time in the last 12 years that Sooners Precision has not been popular. The Bears finished eighth in last season’s poll and went 12-2 before returning from a 2-7 season run in Dave Aranda’s first year, beating Oklahoma State in the Big 12 title game and a wet miss in the Sugar but winning 21-7. Bowl

Oklahoma State came in at No. 3, Texas is at No. 4 behind them with nine first places, two earned and Kansas State dropped out of the top five. Iowa State, followed by TCU, West Virginia, Texas Tech and Kansas.

The Sooners, who have won 14 Big 12 titles, will be led by first-year head coach Brent Venebals, who took charge of the Lincoln Riley when Riley bowled for USC. The Sooners, who had nine players in last year’s Precision All-Conference team, had only one player this season: Punter Michael Turk, along with quarterback Dylan Gabriel, transferred from UCF, were named Conference Player of the Year.

Texas running back Bijan Robinson was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Kansas State defensive lineman Felix Anudic-Uzoma was named defensive POY. Kansas State led the All-Conference team with six players, while Baylor led five.

The Big 12 Media Days will begin July 13-14 at the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Leave a Comment